The Ferns Tapestry


The Tapestry project, located in the Castle Visitors' Centre, is an exciting community-led initiative showcasing the history of Ferns int he ancient art of crewel embroidery, from the arrival of St Aidan in 598 AD to the coming of the Normans in 1169. The Tapestry, comprising 25 panels, measures approximately 50ft x 2ft and was officially launched by President Mary McAleese in July 2004.

The Tapestry group give talks and exhibitions on their work, their most recent took place in Heritage week which takes place each August. Visit their website for more information: www.fernstapestry.com.

The Visitors' Centre is open from the end of May to the end of September from 10am to 6pm, seven days a week. Guided tours of the adjacent castle are given daily by enthusiastic staff.

 
Footer Break Line